Monday, January 7, 2008

First Nations reserves were established in Alberta by a series of treaties, Treaty 6, Treaty 7, and Treaty 8.
Reserves in Alberta cover a total area of 1,622,630 acres (6,566.69 km²) and range from 1,089 acres (4.41 km²) to 354,667 acres (1,435 km²) in size.
Under the British North America Act, legislative authority over indian reserves is placed exclusively with the national parliament and specifically the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. Local administration is placed with local native governments.

List of Alberta Indian reserves List of reserves in Alberta

List of Aboriginal communities in Canada
First Nations in Alberta
List of communities in Alberta
Métis in Alberta

No comments: