Friday, January 11, 2008

The Electoral Commission is a non-departmental public body with powers in the United Kingdom, which was created by an Act of Parliament, the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 (2000 c. 41). In 2002 the Boundary Committee for England became a statutory committee of the commission.
The commission is responsible for:
The commissioners are:
Peter Wardle is the Chief Executive

advising the government on the reform of electoral law
working with the Boundary Committee in determining the boundaries of Council Wards and Divisions, in accordance with statutory guidelines
deciding the procedures for all referendums held in the UK
ensuring that all national and local elections are fully free and fair
regulating political parties, including maintaining a register of political parties for the United Kingdom, and the funding of political campaigns
promoting public awareness of electoral systems in use in the United Kingdom
Sam Younger - Chairman
Sir Neil McIntosh CBE
Pamela Gordon
Glyn Mathias
Karamjit Singh CBE Electoral Commission (United Kingdom) 2006 electoral trials
At the May 2006 local elections, 15 pilot schemes took place in 21 local authority areas across England:
Brent; Brentwood; Broxbourne; Gateshead, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, South Tyneside and Sunderland; Harrow; Knowsley, Liverpool, St Helens and Sefton; Lewisham; Newham; Peterborough; Rushmoor; Shrewsbury and Atcham; Stevenage; Stratford-on-Avon; Swindon; and Westminster
Schemes included:

Voting at supermarkets
Postal vote signature checking
Providing signatures in polling stations
Early voting
Electronic counting

No comments: