Thursday, December 20, 2007

West Lothian
West Lothian (Lodainn an Iar in Gaelic) is one of the 32 unitary council areas in Scotland, and a Lieutenancy area. It borders onto City of Edinburgh, Scottish Borders, South Lanarkshire, North Lanarkshire and Falkirk.
The council area was created in 1996, under the Local Government etc. (Scotland) Act 1994, with the boundaries of the West Lothian district of the Lothian region.

Michael Connarty
Jim Devine
Angela Constance
Mary Mulligan Towns and villages
Bathgate Broxburn Livingston Linlithgow

Principal Towns/Cities

Former status
The county of West Lothian was called Linlithgowshire or the County of Linlithgow until 1921.
As abolished in 1975 by the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973, the county contained six burghs. Two are outside the West Lothian unitary council area:
On abolition in 1975 the county, with the exception of the Bo'ness area, was included in the Lothian Region. Bo'ness became part of the Central Region. Lothian Region was divided into four districts, one of which was named West Lothian and approximated to the former county.


Blackness Castle
Linlithgow Palace, birth place of Mary Queen of Scots.
Cairnpapple Hill
Beecraigs Country Park Mentions in popular culture

No comments: