Saturday, December 22, 2007

This article is part of the series:Banff and Buchan by-election, 2001 Politics and government of Scotland
The Banff and Buchan by-election to the Scottish Parliament was held on June 7, 2001, the same day as a UK general election. The by-election was caused by the resignation of Scottish National Party (SNP) politician Alex Salmond as MSP for Banff and Buchan.
Alex Salmond had decided to return to Westminster, the United Kingdom parliament, as an MP and he won the contest for the Westminster Banff and Buchan constituency the same day as the by-election. The SNP retained the Holyrood seat with Stewart Stevenson (who had originally been selected to contest the Westminster constituency) winning for them.

Scots law
Scottish Government

  • First Minister: Alex Salmond
    Deputy First Minister: Nicola Sturgeon
    Crown Office
    Lord Advocate: Elish Angiolini
    Solicitor General: Frank Mulholland
    Executive agencies
    Public bodies
    Scottish Parliament

    • Acts
      Presiding Officer: Alex Fergusson
      Scottish Parliament Building
      Members (MSPs) : 1999, 2003, 2007
      Constituencies and electoral regions
      Elections: 1999, 2003, 2007, 2011
      Legislative Consent Motion
      Scotland in the UK Government

      • Secretary of State: Des Browne
        Scotland Office
        Reserved matters
        Advocate General: Neil Davidson
        Scotland in the UK Parliament

        • Constituencies
          Grand Committee
          Elections: 1997, 2001, 2005, 2009/10
          Lists of Scottish MPs
          European Parliament

          • European Parliament constituency
            Elections: 2004, 2009
            Local government

            • Subdivisions of Scotland
              Convention of Scottish Local Authorities
              Political parties
              Scottish independence
              Unionism in Scotland Scottish Parliament Election result, 1999

No comments: