Tuesday, February 5, 2008

Colin Henry Wilson (born June 26, 1931 in Leicester) is a prolific British writer.

Colin Wilson Biography
Note: this bibliography, while extensive, is incomplete. For a complete bibliography see Colin Stanley's Colin Wilson, the first fifty years: an existential bibliography, 1956-2005. Nottingham, UK: Paupers' Press, 2006 (ISBN 0-946650-89-6)
Unpublished works:

The Outsider (1956)
Religion and the Rebel (1957)
"The Frenchman" (short story, Evening Standard August 22, 1957)
The Age of Defeat (US title The Stature of Man) (1959)
Ritual in the Dark (1960)
Encyclopedia of Murder (with Patricia Pitman, 1961)
Adrift in Soho (1961)
"Watching the Bird" (short story, Evening News September 12, 1961)
"Uncle Tom and the Police Constable" (short story, Evening News October 23, 1961)
"He Couldn't Fail" (short story, Evening News December 29, 1961)
The Strength to Dream: Literature and the Imagination (1962)
"Uncle and the Lion" (short story, Evening News September 28, 1962)
"Hidden Bruise" (short story, Evening News December 3, 1962)
Origins of the Sexual Impulse (1963)
The World of Violence (US title The Violent World of Hugh Greene) (1963)
Man Without a Shadow (US title The Sex Diary of Gerard Sorme) (1963)
"The Wooden Cubes" (short story, Evening News June 27, 1963)
Rasputin and the Fall of the Romanovs (1964)
Brandy of the Damned (1964; later expanded and reprinted as Chords and Discords/Colin Wilson On Music)
Necessary Doubt (1964)
Beyond the Outsider (1965)
Eagle and Earwig (1965)
Sex and the Intelligent Teenager (1966)
Introduction to the New Existentialism (1966)
The Glass Cage (1966)
The Mind Parasites (1967)
Voyage to a Beginning (1969)
A Casebook of Murder (1969)
Bernard Shaw: A Reassessment (1969)
The Philosopher's Stone (1969)
Poetry and Mysticism (1969; subsequently significantly expanded in 1970)
"The Return of the Lloigor" (short story in Tales of the Cthulhu Mythos, edited by August Derleth, 1969; later revised and published as a separate book)
L'amour: The Ways of Love (1970)
The Strange Genius of David Lindsay (with E. H. Visiak and J.B. Pick, 1970)
Strindberg (1970)
The God of the Labyrinth (US title The Hedonists) (1970)
The Killer (US title Lingard) (1970)
The Occult: A History (1971)
The Black Room (1971)
Order of Assassins: The Psychology of Murder (1972)
New Pathways in Psychology: Maslow and the Post-Freudian Revolution (1972)
Strange Powers (1973)
"Tree" by Tolkien (1973)
Hermann Hesse (1974)
Wilhelm Reich (1974)
Jorge Luis Borges (1974)
Hesse-Reich-Borges: Three Essays (1974)
Ken Russell: A Director in Search of a Hero (1974)
A Book of Booze (1974)
The Schoolgirl Murder Case (1974)
The Unexplained (1975)
Mysterious Powers (US title They Had Strange Powers) (1975)
The Craft of the Novel (1975)
Enigmas and Mysteries (1975)
The Geller Phenomenon (1975)
The Space Vampires (1976)
Colin Wilson's Men of Mystery (US title Dark Dimensions) (with various authors, 1977)
Mysteries (1978)
Mysteries of the Mind (with Stuart Holroyd, 1978)
The Haunted Man: The Strange Genius of David Lindsay (1979)
"Timeslip" (short story in Aries I, edited by John Grant, 1979)
Science Fiction as Existentialism (1980)
Starseekers (1980)
Frankenstein's Castle: The Double Brain, Door to Wisdom (1980)
The Book of Time, edited by John Grant and Colin Wilson (1980)
The War Against Sleep: The Philosophy of Gurdjieff (1980)
The Directory of Possibilities, edited by Colin Wilson and John Grant (1981)
Poltergeist!: A Study in Destructive Haunting (1981)
Anti-Sartre, with an Essay on Camus (1981)
The Quest for Wilhelm Reich (1982)
The Goblin Universe (with Ted Holiday, 1982)
Access to Inner Worlds: The Story of Brad Absetz (1983)
Encyclopedia of Modern Murder, 1962-82 (1983)
"A Novelization of Events in the Life and Death of Grigori Efimovich Rasputin," in Tales of the Uncanny (Reader's Digest Association, 1983; an abbreviated version of the later The Magician from Siberia)
The Psychic Detectives: The Story of Psychometry and Paranormal Crime Detection (1984)
A Criminal History of Mankind (1984), revised and updated (2005)
Lord of the Underworld: Jung and the Twentieth Century (1984)
The Janus Murder Case (1984)
The Bicameral Critic (1985)
The Essential Colin Wilson (1985)
Rudolf Steiner: The Man and His Vision (1985)
Afterlife: An Investigation of the Evidence of Life After Death (1985)
The Personality Surgeon (1985)
An Encyclopedia of Scandal. Edited by Colin Wilson and Donald Seaman (1986)
The Book of Great Mysteries. Edited by Colin Wilson and Dr. Christopher Evans (1986)
An Essay on the 'New' Existentialism (1988)
The Laurel and Hardy Theory of Consciousness (1986)
Spider World: The Tower (1987)
Spider World: The Delta (1987)
Marx Refuted - The Verdict of History, edited by Colin Wilson (with contributions also) and Ronald Duncan, Bath, (UK), (1987), ISBN 0-906798-71-X
Aleister Crowley: The Nature of the Beast (1987)
The Musician as 'Outsider'. (1987)
The Encyclopedia of Unsolved Mysteries (with Damon Wilson, 1987)
Jack the Ripper: Summing Up and Verdict (with Robin Odell, 1987)
Autobiographical Reflections (1988)
The Misfits: A Study of Sexual Outsiders (1988)
Beyond the Occult (1988)
The Mammoth Book of True Crime (1988)
The Magician from Siberia (1988)
The Decline and Fall of Leftism (1989)
Written in Blood: A History of Forensic Detection (1989)
Existentially Speaking: Essays on the Philosophy of Literature (1989)
Serial Killers: A Study in the Psychology of Violence (1990)
Spider World: The Magician (1992)
Mozart's Journey to Prague (1992)
The Strange Life of P.D. Ouspensky (1993)
Unsolved Mysteries (with Damon Wilson, 1993)
Outline of the Female Outsider (1994)
A Plague of Murder (1995)
From Atlantis to the Sphinx (1996)
An Extraordinary Man in the Age of Pigmies: Colin Wilson on Henry Miller (1996)
The Atlas of Sacred Places (1997)
Below the Iceberg: Anti-Sartre and Other Essays (reissue with essays on postmodernism, 1998)
The Corpse Garden (1998)
The Books in My Life (1998)
Alien Dawn (1999)
The Devil's Party (US title Rogue Messiahs) (2000)
The Atlantis Blueprint (with Rand Flem-Ath, 2000)
Illustrated True Crime: A Photographic History (2002)
The Tomb of the Old Ones (with John Grant, 2002)
Spider World: Shadowlands (2002)
Dreaming To Some Purpose (2004)
Atlantis and the Kingdom of the Neanderthals (2006)
Crimes of Passion: The Thin Line Between Love and Hate (2006)
The Rise and Fall of the Angry Young Men (2007)
The Anatomy of Human Greatness (non-fiction, written 1964; to be published electronically by Maurice Bassett)
Metamorphosis of the Vampire (fiction, written 1992-94)

No comments: